Notes from the Writer’s Block Party

The Gale Borden Public Library in Elgin was the setting for the first annual Writer’s Block Party.

After brief introductions by CWA president, Randy Richardson, Author! Author! president, Juli Schatz, and In Print president, Kristin Oakley, the winners of the first annual In Print Writing Contest were announced.

Winners Catherine Conroy and Jim Applegate read their entries to the crowd. 

The featured discussion included a panel of four Chicago area small press publishers: Emily Victorson from Allium Press, Rick Kaempfer from Eckhartz Press, Victor David Giron of Curbside Splendor, and Mike O’Mary from Dream of Things. The discussion was moderated by Elgin publisher George Rawlinson (State Street Publishing). Mr. Rawlinson steered the panel through topics that ranged from starting your own publishing house to how the industry is being changed by e-books. 

It was quite an event!